The seven mortal sins, as identified in the sixth century by Pope Gregory 1, are considered types of sin: pride, envy, anger, gluttony, lust, sloth, and greed.

Many believe the seven are listed in the Bible. Surprisingly, even though the seven each is a sin, this listing isn’t included in Scripture. This sin categorization’s history started in the year 400.

Evagrius Ponticus a fourth-century monk. Two centuries after Pope Gregory 1, elegant the stock. Every sin can be put in one of those seven classes. Isaiah 14:13-14 informs us pride and selfishness are associated with all those seven and therefore are seen as the root causes of sin.

Seven Deadly Sins through the Bible
Through this Scripture’s sweep, these seven sins have been addressed. Exodus, Deuteronomy, Proverbs, and Galatians are in several areas.

Do not make an idol.

Respect your parents.

Do not murder.

Do not commit adultery.

Do not steal.

Do not lie.

Do not covet.

Sin is the company.

Can the mortal sins be forgiven?
Yes, even all sins can be forgiven by God. There are a number of sins that endure more consequences than many others. For example, murder has consequences than anger that is wicked. The sin, the eternal consequences will be exactly the same– a separation from a holy God. However, no sin too large or too bad that God can’t forgive (1 John 1:9).

By residing out attributes that are godly and growing in the fruit of the Spirit, Christians may battle the seven mortal sins in their own lives.

1. Pride

Definition: the condition or quality of being proud: for example excessive self-esteem, conceit

2. Envy

Definition awareness of an advantage enjoyed

3. Wrath

Definition:: powerful vengeful anger or indignation

Counterpart: calmness, gentleness, self-control

4. Gluttony

Definition: excessive bloat (generally food or beverage )

5. Lust

Counterpart: perseverance, diligence

6. Sloth

Definition: disinclination to labor or action apathy, and childbirth

7. Greed

Definition: an egotistical and excess need for more of something (like cash ) than is required (material products )

Give a Comment